- The mayor’s message
- Natural resources
- Cultural heritage
- Where to stay
- Going out
- Things to do
- Young people
- Somme Bay’s railroad
- Somme Bay’s house
The Rescue station and the Benoit Champy
— Sail-oar lifeboat listed as a historical monument —
“Cayeux-sur-mer” became a seaside resort as early as 1874. At that time, the "Admiral Courbet" boat was used to rescue shipwrecked ships. From 1901 to 1956, another boat, the «Benoit Champy " went to sea on many occasions in order to assist boats in trouble.
Designed to intervene in the roughest seas, this “sail-oar” boat which is 10.10 meters long and whose crew consisted of 12 men, is unsinkable, can straigten up by itself and drain off spontaneously. 12 horses were needed to launch it.
After 55 years’ service, often in dangerous conditions, the "Benoit Champy" owes its survival today to the fervor and the pugnacity of a man, Henry Duthoit, whose work of restoration (5000hours) is exemplary.
Cayeux-sur-Mer can pride itself on possessing a shelter as well as a sail-oar lifeboat listed as a historical monument. They are rich pieces of evidence of the maritime past of Cayeux and they are jealously maintained by an association called "Les Pompons Rouges", association which is glad to make the public discover their treasure so as to pass on their passion for the sea, for fishing and for the maritime history of Cayeux.
Opened to the public:
Every Saturday morning from 9.30 am to 12h30 pm or on appointment
Free admission (Donations to the association are possible.)